top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoa Batson

Reading 2

Updated: Dec 19, 2022


Alrighty. So my second reading was kind of misleading. But it also wasn't.Maybe I’m just pretentious and all (could you not tell from me suggesting we gatekeep NFT’s?), but I don’t think this counts as digital art. Is it digital? Yes. Is it art? technically, yes. So what’s the problem?

I think this all feels too capitalist. Having this massive, advertising display on the side of a building all feels very capitalist to me. It feels more like an advertisement than art. Are advertisements technically digital art? Yeah, but generally when I think of digital art, I think of short films, AI, VR, webtoons- things like that. I feel like digital art is very underground, and this gigantic building display is anything but.

And I understand that this is technically digital art, but I am also very much aware that my brain refuses to acknowledge this as digital art.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page